top of page

Copper Pennies from Heaven


Rock formation & open pit copper mine in Hanover, NM. Society for People Born in Outer Space
Kneeling Nun Silver City

The universe is basically #StreamOfConsciousness. April 18 my sons & I attended #PirateFest here in Vegas. Gorgeous day, open air, but about half the attendees were wearing masks voluntarily. Pirates & so called bad-asses wearing masks outdoors, lol. When we're in the car together, my oldest has control of the music, and this song streamed as we drove home: Earth People by Dr. Octagon https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fc8zdLQuZp0


On Monday my stupid brain had the refrain on constant repeat, cluttering up my thoughts all day. At some point it morphed into a rhyme sorta like "girls have knowledge because they go to college, boys are stupider because they come from Jupiter." I think I learned it from a Penny Cartoon on #PeeWeesPlayhouse, but I haven't done the research to confirm. It's now Thursday, the repetitive drone of silly rhymes has finally begun to abate. Finally!


Maybe it's impending old age :-) or facing the reality of the #GreatReset, but I've been rather nostalgic lately. While I was playing around on deep dream generator with some landscape images, out of the blue I remembered the #KneelingNun near Silver City. That's where my mom's people are from since before English speaking ranchers arrived - Silver City, Deming, Hanover, Truth or Consequences. In the late 90s there was a concern that the open pit copper mine at the base of this rock formation was going to swallow it up. I'm seriously afraid to find out if it did. I don't want to kill the cat by opening the box, ya know?


Open pit mines disturb the fuck out of me. I visited that one as a teen in the early 80s. Even then, it was a huge, gaping wound. How can people not feel the pain, or hear the mourning in the wind-blow?


In any case, this morning I saw a post on social media about the mystical, energetic properties of copper, and how it's been used throughout human history. Now that physical wound sounds more and more like a spiritual affront. Following the click click click of my own thoughts only to find another reason to mourn what is out of my power to save. (Such ego) Copper is good for your D3 blood levels, btw. Natural immunity. It's all connected. The circle is complete, whether we perceive it that way, or not.

Recent Posts
bottom of page